Ladylike Lavender

December 28, 2012 at 1:45 am | Posted in Apron | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

Full View-sash has tipped ends, two ruffles, polka dots, prints, and mini pom pom trim
This was a Christmas custom order for Anne, via her mom.  Anne knew I was making it but not all the details. I have a good idea of what sorts of things she likes, including the colors black/purple/white/red.  But when I went shopping I hated all the dark purples and black and white prints.  Then I saw this dusty purple with grey and pops of mustard yellow. Unusual! Beautiful! It feels almost Victorian, but the yellow keeps it from being too sweet. I thought Anne would like it, especially if I picked up the yellow bits. I found a coordinating lavender and a grey and white polka dot and mini ball fringe in mustard and got it all.  Anne said she’s a bit short-waisted so we’d agreed that this adjustable style would be perfect-one long strap for your neck and waist ties and you can cinch the sides shorter or longer and move the top higher or lower, as need be, to make a good fit.
Adjustable neck/sash ties let you gather the sides to be long or short
I used the main print for the main piece of the apron and made two ruffles out of the lavender and polka dot. I used grey and yellow seam bindings.
Grey and Yellow Seam Bindings for the ruffles
For the long tie I used the lavender, but tipped the last 10 inches or so with the polka dot fabric.  And the pocket? Polka dot with the tiny ball fringe of mustard outlining it.
Fancy pocket trim
I so loved how this looked when I finished that I think I might use the same fabrics to make myself a summer top or dress out of!
Beautiful shades of dusky purple and grey with pops of mustard yellow
Anne reported that when she opened her package on Christmas Day she liked it very much. Happy Cooking, Anne!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks, Sarah! I do love it – thank you for putting together such a beautiful gift for me!


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.